Leicestershire & Rutland Ramblers


This is an annual competition to thank those landowners making an effort to keep our footpaths in good condition. We are excluding paths maintained by local authorities as they have a duty to properly maintain them. The arrangements have been agreed with the National Farmers Union and nominations are welcome from landowners and members or the general public. Each constituent group in the Area is asked to nominate at least one each year.

Nominations should be advised as discovered but will close each year on Jul 31st to allow time for judging during the growing season and before the weather closes in.

Please make your suggestion either direct to our Footpaths Officer or via your group

In addition to the landowner / manager of the winning path receiving a framed certificate and notices to go on the path other paths may be given Highly Commended certificates

The winner is announced at our AGM at the start of the following year.

Recent winners etc


Winner – Saltby Estate Footpath E84 East from the Saltby to Sproxton Road

Highly Commended - Peter Osborne Footpath K10 from Chaveney Road, Quorn to Swithland


Winner – John Blunt and the Staunton Harold Estate Permissive path, Staunton Ridgeway & the Poets Path

2016 – Richard & Charles Tyler,  Tyler Farms Ltd for Path E289, Morcott to Seaton

Highly Commended – Patrick Arnold for Path M91, Peggs Green

2017 – Philip Johnson & family for their network of permissive paths at Rectory Farm, Greast Easton

Highly Commended – MR & M Taylor, Messenger Lodge Farm, I 85 from Gaddesby to Barsby

Highly Commended – Alan Smith, Mill Farm Gaddesby for I 90 Barsby to Ashby Folville


Sunday, December 16, 2018